So we made a fall wreath…

FallWreathDoor2014…and it’s kind of gaudy, but looks ok from the road. I don’t know what possessed me but a couple of weekends ago I got the urge to make something fall-ish for the front door, probably still riding momentum from our stellar Halloween decorations, and so I took to the internet for inspiration.

I found one on Pinterest (where else) that looked simple enough for novice wreath makers like myself and kiddo. The original with instructions is here. Ours looks pretty much nothing like the Pinterest one but for our first attempt, I think we did ok.

The materials were few and fairly easy to find in the local craft store (we went to Michaels).

  • Fake flowers
  • Straw wreath still in the plastic
  • Greenery pins
  • Roll of burlap
  • Fall ribbon

FYI: I don’t think we saved any money by doing this ourselves. Fake foliage is expensive apparently. You’re probably better off financially to buy wreaths on clearance right after the holiday and whip ’em out next year.

For our creation you basically wrap a straw wreath with burlap and pin flowers on it. Then the hard part, wrapping and bunching and pinning more burlap in a semi-attractive way. I kind of failed at this but then we decided to add the orange ribbon as a distraction tactic because crafty crafters are crafty. The bow presented another issue as I also have no skills in this area but I finagled enough and finally called it adequate. And like I said, from a distance its a win.

PicMonkey Collage

PicMonkey Collage2

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

