books. poetry.

CaptureI’m reading the best book. Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald by Therese Anne Fowler. The Jazz Age, F. Scott, New York City, great writing…what’s not to love? I think I’m going to give The Paris Wife a go next.

I gave up on Winter’s Tale because it was boring me to death. I know many people who cannot bear to finish a book once they’ve started it, no matter how much they dislike it. I am not one of those people. Life is too short to do things you hate; I feel the same way about reading books. There are too many books out there and not enough life time to read them all. I’m not wasting my time on ones I don’t like. You have 25% of a book to get me interested and decide whether or not to keep reading. I think that’s a generous effort on my part but if I’m not into it by then, back on the shelf you go.

I’m starting an online course in Modern Poetry in a couple of weeks and am pretty excited about it. This site, Coursera, is really great. There are courses on all kinds of topics and they are all free, completely legit, and taught by professors and professionals from universities and organizations all over the world. My workplace has courses on it, which is how I learned about it. Its a fabulous resource for those of us with a little bit (or a lot) of ADD in life who want to learn more about lots of things and expand the ol’ bean. I’m a fan.

Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

