thinky thoughts about the new job

Things fell into place faster than I imagined and I start a new job on March 24th! It’s with the same organization but in a different location and department. Hooray!

I am excited but also second guessing myself in the back of my mind about whether or not this is the right choice, because that’s just how I roll. I always agonize over whether I’m making the right or wrong decision about most everything in my life. It’s a curse I tell you. The positive thing is that after I’ve made a decision I know pretty quickly whether or not it was the right one or not. Its like some sort of weird delayed confirmation thing. This new position is definitely a “safe” choice and well within my comfort zone. I know I’ll be good at it and my highest hope is that I will love it and thrive in it.

I think my minimal but existent reservations lie in wondering if I should have held out for something…drastically different. I applied for a couple of jobs that I would put into that category and could still get called for interviews for those. But I don’t like committing to something and then backing out so I doubt I will pursue those now should that become an option.

Anyway, I’m very excited and thankful and happy and all of that. I fully realize how fortunate I am with this new development in my life. I am thinking about balance though. I found a local charitable organization that has some overseas travel options for volunteers and I have my sights set on one of those trips for 2015. I think I’ll feel better about this whole “being fulfilled” thing if I can balance my life with work and more volunteering. I just want to feel good about what I do, ya know? The new gig isn’t saving starving orphans from raging hurricanes or anything, but it is directly involved in medical research, which I know is for the greater good in a more indirect way. And I can definitely be proud of that.

Just thinking thinky thoughts. So hooray for new jobs and new chapters! I do love change ya know.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

