mish mash

Whew, it’s only Saturday afternoon and this weekend has exhausted me already. In all good ways though.

On the job search front…I applied for what looks like an amazing position and got a very positive response the next afternoon. The HR representative said they were interested in talking to me about it and she sent me an official application to fill out and asked for my references. I have the paperwork all ready to scan and email back to her tomorrow. I don’t want to get my hopes up but this looks promising and I am crossing my fingers for an interview with them very soon. In the meantime, I continue to look and apply. Something great is going to happen. I just know it.

Cuban Black Beans and RiceFriday I stayed home and did housework stuff and made a Cuban black beans and rice dish in the lazy cook’s favorite appliance, the ever amazing crock pot. It turned out really yummy and I’ll definitely make it again. I’ll try a new vegetarian crock pot dish next week. This seems to be my new thing.

That evening, Valentine’s Day exploded all over the kitchen. Kiddo had a great day with Valentines 2014school parties and such, and hubs and I had one of our sweetest and best V-Day’s ever, right here at home. Although I think I have made an unfortunate discovery…I am about 75% sure that chocolate is causing me some headaches. I know chocolate is a headache trigger for some people but I had hoped the Universe would never be so evil as to curse me with this particular malady, given that chocolate is one of my main food groups. I assure you that I will continue to test this theory in the name of science and will keep you posted.

That night I tried my best to go to bed early because I had to be up by 5:30 to get downtown to do a 5K with some friends. So of course, knowing that I needed to get rest psyched me out and I didn’t sleep worth a dern. But I still Hot Chocolate 5K Feb2014managed to get up and ready in time to meet mah peeps and get to my designated corral. I think I’ve mentioned a few posts ago that I haven’t ran in months so this race was strictly for the social aspects alone. Oh, and the hot chocolate of course since it was the Hot Chocolate 5K/15K after all. Here are a few pics from the grand event, minus my friend Nat who left early afterwards and another friend who bailed altogether because of the cold. Boo. But y’all it was COLD. So very cold. I walked a bit and jogged a bit more. I was on track to get a better time than expected until the hill from hell rose up in front of me and it was a long one. Hello glutes workout. I was huffing and puffing up that crazy hill and spotted my friend Leland coming to join me. He’d finished already and had come back to pull me to the end. It really did help a lot too and I ran the rest of the way. My time still sucked mind you but I didn’t care. That’s what happens when you don’t train. There was, as the name promised, hot chocolate at the finish line and chocolate fondue even! Yes, I now have a headache but it was worth it. Hot Chocolate 5K Feb2014a

Still on the running and racing topic, every time I do a race I get re-jazzed and want to sign up for another one. If I could just be consistent with training, I know I could kill some finish time goals and get some PRs. Maybe with the warmer weather and spring coming up (if that ever happens) I will be motivated to get out there more.

Happy weekend and here’s to ushering in springtime a little bit faster!

It’s spring fever.  That is what the name of it is.  And when you’ve got it, you want – oh, you don’t quite know what it is you do want, but it just fairly makes your heart ache, you want it so!  ~Mark Twain

 

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

