stuff ‘n thangs

PicMonkey CollageI’m over the holidays and Christmas “vacation”. I’m ready to go back to work. And now there is the threat of Snowmaggedon on Sunday night so there’s more than a snowball’s chance in hell that Monday will be a snow day and I will go crazy. I’m overly dramatic, I realize. Its been awesome to hang with kiddo these past couple of weeks and we’ve done a lot of fun things…but y’all, I really need to reenter the adult world. I can easily see how stay at home moms tend to “lose themselves” in the land of Legos, diapers, tantrums, Nickelodeon, and all things kiddie. Those women deserve a raise and a stiff drink or five.

I’ve registered for my first 5K of the year for February 15th with some friends. Should be a fun race, albeit COLD. But there will be hot chocolate and fondue at the finish line so how could a chunky girl NOT do it? I’m not sure I’ll ever be a very good or fast or consistent runner. But I can’t seem to stay away from it for long. Maybe its because I consider it a solitary sport (or at least as solitary as you want it to be) and I like that about it. You’re only competing against yourself and seeking to improve from your last time or pace or hot chocolate consumption or whatever your goals may be.

On the literary front, I’ve been reading Stieg Larsson’s Millennium series lately and am on the second book. I’m saving the movies for after I finish and hope to watch both the Swedish and American versions. As far as movies go, I did get to see Bettie Page Reveals All the other night and wow, interesting lady! I didn’t realize she was born and lived in Nashville, or was diagnosed with acute schizophrenia and spent almost two years in a mental hospital…and so many other things. I love documentaries. On the other hand, I watched The Last Unicorn with kiddo tonight and I did not love that. Odd movie, in my opinion, and I usually like the weird stuff.

Tomorrow let’s make veggie tacos, do some stuff at the gym, rock some Angry Birds Star Wars on the Playstation, and go for a walk in the freezing cold, um’ kay? Fabulous.

Peas ‘n carrots.

 

Leave a Reply

