the weekend and wheels

As briefly mentioned in a prior post, The Accountant and I had scheduled an all weekend babysitter for kiddo and a weekend getaway for ourselves. My throat issues mysteriously disappeared shortly after I complained about them and off we went.

I could so live the rest of my life in a nice hotel. We were within walking distance of everything we wanted, and shuttle distance of anything else. We hung out with friends and had dinner, saw a movie (Elysium, very good in spite of the overt political slant, but, Matt Damon so whatever), and relaxed. Saturday was brunch at our favorite pancake joint, and lots of exercise! We walked all over the place and rented bikes from the B-cycle and continued our journeys about town. Overall we got in over seven miles of galavanting around the city under our own power. The rest of the weekend was spent lounging. I am a champion lounger. It was a very nice, very relaxing and chilled out weekend. I need more of those.

Let’s talk about bikes now…My friend cracked me up today when I made a comment about why I am so obsessed with motorcycles and bicycles lately…she said “its because you are looking for multiple escape methods.” Ha!

First bicycles…Ever since a friend of mine had mentioned the possibility of completing a duathlon I haven’t been able to get the notion out of my head. But I have no experience with serious biking and haven’t ridden in years and don’t (make that didn’t) even own a bicycle. Besides potential racing at a much later date, another plus to getting a bike was that I figured I needed a supplement to running and my knees, feet, and joints would appreciate an additional option for fitness that’s a bit more exciting than the stationary bike at the gym. After talking to a guy at a local bike shop about what my goals were for the time being he recommended some options and I test rode a Trek Verve and a Trek FX 7.4 on Saturday. Today at lunch I drove away with the FX in the back of my car. This is obviously not a race bike but will be good for a newb like me to get used to biking in general, and build up my fitness overall. If I really get serious about a duathlon, I can always trade up to an official road bike. That said, I cannot wait to get it home and ride! I want to ride all the greenways and parks and its going to be a great option to be able to throw it in the back of my car in the mornings and ride out the stress of the day in the afternoons before heading home. So excited! Will post a pic later.

Now motorcycles…Before we left on our weekend getaway, I wanted to see if I could really ride The Accountant’s motorcycle without crashing. I was soooo nervous. Its one thing to crash the little rattletrap bikes they let us ride in the Basic Rider class, but a whole other thing to scratch up your husband’s pride and joy, which is much heavier and much nicer. I hopped on, got oriented, took a few deep breaths, and took off. Given what I looked like on it the last time I tried (a scared little girl), The Accountant was impressed. I rode around the neighborhood for a while and got used to the feel of this heavier, and oh so much smoother ride than the one I’d learned on.

I have now claimed this bike as my own. All’s fair in war and marriage.

wheelscollage

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

