why did the chicken cross the road?

Possum CollageSoooooo, today was interesting.

I was already planning to spend a few hours at the wildlife rehab place doing laundry or dishes or whatever they needed. I was getting ready to go and saw an email that someone had four baby opossums that they’d found orphaned alongside the road because guess what, momma opossum had done got herself run over. Imagine that. The lady that had found them couldn’t get to the wildlife place (I need a better name) that day and she was sorta fairly close to me. I called, made arrangements and the next thing you know, I have these possum kids in my car and am driving them to safety and salvation.

Do I sound like a crazy person yet? Don’t answer that.

I hung around for a good part of the rest of the day and had more than one new experience. I was shown how they do their laundry, but didn’t get around to doing any because there was the biggest pile of dirty dishes, animal containers, birdcages, syringes, bowls, etc you have ever seen and I was put on dish duty. There were things in that sink that I didn’t even want to know the origins of. I thought it was one of the grossest thing I’d done in a while (I am a mom, so I’ve done some gross things) until I got to watch a technician pick maggots out of a hawk’s wounds and then swept up piles of raccoon and mouse poop.

I conquered the pile of dishes though, just so you know. But the highlight of my day was having two injured fawns lick my legs. Maybe I’m salty? So stinkin’ adorable! I’ve only seen fawns in the wild and not close up, but there were at least 5 or 6 of them in this little room. One was missing an eye and I’m not sure what was wrong with the other ones. They were beautiful. I was told that they will attach to humans quite easily so the staff tries to have as little interaction with them as possible, outside of caring for them until they can be re-released into the wild.

Oh, but back to the joke…Why did the chicken cross the road? To show the opossum that it could be done. A classic right there. Bah-dah-bing.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

