body betrayed

I’ve rested my foot for the past three days. Two of those days I rested completely and cross-trained on the other one. Today it was time to get back out there.

I walked the dog first and got in a 1.4 mile warm up. Then ran/walked 3.4 more miles. It wasn’t pretty. I got through most of it but my body and brain shut down and refused to run anymore about 3/4 of the way in. I get why it happened. It was a combination of things that if I list, will only sound like excuses. Bottom line, I’m not taking care of my body and it is telling me so. I cannot be the best runner I can be if I don’t stop treating myself like crap. Its a self-worth thing and I know that. I’m not sure why there are so many times when I don’t think I’m worth taking care of…when I think I’m not good enough to treat myself well and healthily.

On the plus side, I love my Garmin 405 Forerunner. I am able to easily set up my intervals online, transfer them to the Garmin, and hit the road without worrying about using my phone as my time tracker. The Garmin beeps when its time to switch from walking to running and includes my warm up and cool down. I transfer the workout stats to my Garmin Connect account online and have my progress tracked like magic. I seriously love technology.

Another plus was that my foot did ok. I’m wondering if the treadmill is the culprit. I’m sure my stride, rhythm, and breathing are different on the treadmill. Something to consider. Anyway, I’m keeping an eye on it and hoping for the best.

sunburnAs for tomorrow, I’m not sure if I’ll repeat today’s run or go to the gym or both. Bedtime for now though.

Oh, one more thing…always wear sunscreen kids. It’s part of taking care of your bod. I’m not proud of these shoulders right now, although the freckles are kind of cute.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

