training and reading happened, friday plans

Not feeling quite so lame for hitting the snooze button and missing my run this morning because I just did it. Day 1 complete. I’m a hot sweating stinky mess of a girl right now. My training program called for 4 min running/1 min walking for a total of 45 min, plus warm up and cool down. That netted me 3.52 miles. Done and done. Plus I walked the dog another 1.3 miles after. Take that you sneaky snooze button. Tomorrow is a cross training day so I’ll hit the gym and do some arm work and maybe cycle a bit. Onward.

bookI finished The Thirteenth Tale today. It was quite good but not super fantastic like I was expecting. There was a nicely done twist at the end which quieted some doubts I’d had about midway through. I hope to finish Slaughterhouse-Five tomorrow as well. I’m listening to it on audiobook and only have about an hour and a half to go. I’m finding that one a bit difficult and one of those novels that I feel like I “should” like because its all deep and intellectual. Reading reviews and other people’s analysis does help me to understand it a bit better and more clearly see where Vonnegut was coming from. Next I’m moving onto much lighter fare in the form of Tina Fey’s Bossypants. And then I think maybe Chi Running, which I’ve had borrowed from a friend for ages now and I think this is the time to read it. And Let’s Pretend This Never Happened…because, hilarity. SO MANY BOOKS, SO LITTLE TIME!!!!

I will be heading back out to the wildlife rehab/education place on Friday to spend some more time with the Animal Care Director for a more in depth tour and discussion about what their needs are and her expectations. Emails have been heavy over the past few days between myself and administration and I’m pretty jazzed about what I can do to help them out. And they, in turn, are helping me out in ways they don’t even realize. This is good for my brain. I wish I could take my dad out there. I think he would love it. Maybe soon.

And now methinks it’s time for a shower and sleep.

Leave a Reply

