1/2 mary and battles with wacky nuts

In a few months I’ll be “running” in my second half marathon. I use the word running loosely because I walked the majority of the one last year and while I plan to run most of this second one, I am not above walking parts of it as well. Ain’t no shame in walking my friends. I have a training plan worked out and will officially begin this evening. I had the greatest of intentions of getting up and going this morning but hello, snooze button. The best laid plans… This is why I will never make it to the Olympics. I like running in the mornings best but getting out the door is the hardest part. Afterwards I’m all happy and feeling good and ready for the day. Will try again though.

I’m excited about this one because its local and flat and a big deal for my town. I was to partially train and run it with a friend but that fell through so now I’m kind of looking for a new training partner, or at least seeing which of my friends are also running in it. If I’d known I’d probably have signed up for the Women’s Half with a couple of girlfriends like last year but you know what they say about hindsight.

I’ll try to keep this site updated with progress. Maybe. I’m not very good at blogging commitments so we’ll see. I have been killing it at the gym lately but I also killed some “wacky nut cookies” (as kiddo calls macadamia nut cookies) last night too so I’m probably breaking even on weight loss. Actually not true, I’m down some pounds and would like to keep that trend going. I am also trying to listen to my body for a change because injuries are lame (yuk yuk yuk). I have super sore biceps and my knees started complaining a couple of days ago. I shifted to the bike yesterday and got a good 17 miles in. Tonight we’ll try a steady run/walk on pavement and see what happens. It sucks getting old y’all.

Happy running!

Leave a Reply

