running, closets & quesadillas

I’m not sure what got into me yesterday but I was a woman on fire.

I’m off on Fridays and didn’t have to be anywhere until 11:00 so kiddo and I snuggled in bed for an extra long time watching Kung Fu Panda and Scooby Doo. I dropped her off at daycare just in time for outside play and then met Donita for our run.

Today’s run was 3.15 miles and one of the hilliest I’ve done so far. This is good since I need to be doing a lot of hillwork anyway. It can only help my running and the half marathon in April will have lots of hills. What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger right? Or at least makes your butt look better. Although I seem to have done something weird to my foot so I’m gonna rest it today and hope its better tomorrow. Just what I don’t need, an injury this early on.

Then to Target for more shoe boxes for my closet overhaul and then home to try out a new recipe. Who am I? My closet is a small walk-in but I’m planning on turning it into a space where I can do scrapbooking and crafty type things. Good thing I don’t have many clothes I guess. The Accountant likes this idea because I’m a slob creative type and tend to leave chaos in my wake. This way we can shut the door and not have to worry about having to clean up a disaster in the guest room when company comes, which was choice number two for a craft room. So far one bag of clothes has been delivered to Goodwill and shoes are in clear boxes off the floor. Onward!

I mentioned a recipe…I’m really honestly for real trying to eat healthier and cook at home more these days. Last week’s crock pot vegetarian chili was great so I decided to try another. This time it was Black Bean Quesadillas from epicurious.com. Hello yumminess!!! With a few tweaks, mainly less onion and more beans. Otherwise, fabulous! Here is the recipe and some pics because I have nothing else to talk about at the moment.

Black Bean Quesadillas

  • 1 can black beans, rinsed and drained. (I’ll use 2 cans next time)
  • 1 8oz block monteray jack or cheddar cheese, shredded (or use pre-shredded bag of taco cheese…guess which one I did)
  • 1 cup chopped cilantro, roughly chopped
  • 1 white onion, chopped (I’ll use 3/4 onion next time)
  • 8 flour tortillas

For serving:

  • shredded romaine lettuce
  • chopped tomatoes
  • salsa
  • hot sauce
  • sour cream

In a bowl (duh), combine beans, cheese, cilantro and onion. Set aside.

Place tortilla in heated non stick skillet sprayed with non stick spray. Spoon mixture evenly over half of tortilla and fold remaining half over mixture. Lightly press down with spatula. Cook for a few minutes until bottom of tortilla is golden brown, then carefully flip and cook for a few more minutes until tortilla is golden brown and cheese is melted. Cut into 3 or 4 wedges and serve quesadillas with salsa, salad and Spanish rice. Or whatever you want. I did Spanish rice as a side.

Viola! Easy peasy and yummy!

 

One thought on “running, closets & quesadillas

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

