zombie brain

My “grey matter” as a former English teacher used to refer to our adolescent brains, has been completely mush the last couple of days. Maybe its too much Dora and not enough veggies or something, I dunno. I do the whole zoning out thing quite well but some days its way worse than others. I need a challenge of some sort. Some new stimulation or scenery. I did change the template here…you know I do that when I get restless.

Speaking of zombies and brains, a friend is doing the Zombie Buffet 5K this weekend and I’m kinda jealous. The timing just isn’t good for me but I would’ve made a killa Black Swan Zombie doncha think? Oh wait, I don’t think I’ve talked about that whole running a 5K in a tutu thing on here have I? My bad. Long story short…a friend and I dressed as White Swan and Black Swan and ran a race. It was wicked fun. The end. Here is proof…I cropped White Swan out because well, not everyone wants these types of things documented on the internet.

  And no, I am not pregnant, I was just wearing a “billowy” shirt.

Now, what was I talking about again? Oh yes, being restless. This must be why I run around town in tutus on occasion. To feed the restless beast (or bird in this case).

While I’m on the subject of costumes (sort of), kiddo keeps saying she wants to be a spider for Halloween. The original plan was to recycle last year’s pirate costume but a couple of options have come to my attention to change things up. The lovely Danielle suggested drawing a spider on her face and she could be a Pirate Spider. Brilliant! Also, I’ve found a no-sew (’cause we all know that ain’t happening) homemade spider costume that doesn’t look too difficult or expensive so we could do that as well. Hmmmm. What will probably happen is kid will want to be a spider up until the costume is ready and then randomly say that she wants to be a unicorn or something. In which case mommy will say no candy for you.

I’m reading an excellent book right now for bookclub. Shanghai Girls by Lisa See. It has nothing to do with zombies, spiders or swans but is great nonetheless.

Oh, back to the 5K thing. Kiddo and I will be tearing up the pavement in this one in a few weeks. I am definitely not going to break any PRs in this race since I’ll be pushing a 30 lb kid in a humongous stroller, but it should be fun. And hopefully she’ll think its cool to race with the old lady.

Till next time.

2 thoughts on “zombie brain

  1. I think you are an incredible mom, that costume was fantastic and she was obviously psyched. I want to run the zombie buffet next year, you in?

Leave a Reply

