grumpy mcgrumperson

I am not a fan of small talk nor am I very good at it. Post holiday small talk tops the list of all categories of dreaded chitty-chatty-for-no-reason banter. Hello person with me in the elevator who I don’t know but who I think works in accounting…”how was your Christmas” they ask me…I say “it was great, how was yours?” And we carry on. This bugs me. The waiter at lunch asks the same thing…I answer in turn. Drives me crazy. A friend sincerely wants to know, ok fine, we’ll discuss.  By the way, my Christmas was pretty great, thanks for asking. How was yours? Maybe I’ll post about it soon and then I’ll just direct curious passersby to this site so I don’t have to rehash. Heh.

I’m a bit gloomy doomy today. Not that you could possibly tell that because I hide it so well. The weeks after the holiday build up and then the inevitable descent tend to bring me down in weird ways. I think it’s the anticipation and preparation, then BANG the big event, and then…nothing. Except dreary weather, stashing away holiday decorations and continuing with the normal. I don’t particularly like being the kind of person who always needs something to look forward to, some sort of carrot on a stick to chase. But that’s me. No wait, make that chocolate cake on a stick. Now that I will run for. Screw the carrots.

And I’ll be a monkey’s uncle if a Life Is Good tweet did not just pop up on my twitter feed to tell me to get over it and stop being such a grump…”Don’t cry because it’s over, smile because it happened”. Now I feel a smidgen of guilt but I refuse to delete! Refuse I say! *shakes fist in air defiantly*

New Year’s Resolutions…I was considering making some and then decided I’d have better luck keeping promises to myself if I don’t make any. Which when I write that out, makes no sense but in my rumblybumbly brain it does. I think I set goals that are too much of a stretch. I need to learn to work within that whole babysteps concept. Oh, speaking of New Years…know what else DRIVES ME TO THE BRINK OF HOMICIDE??? It is a sure thing that come Dec 31st that as I am leaving the office some moron will say…”see you next year!!” and then laugh at their brilliant originality. I need to go ahead and come up with a sarcastic comeback to that one. Suggestions welcome.

I mean really, I don’t know where she gets this from…Its such a mystery…

3 thoughts on “grumpy mcgrumperson

Add yours

  1. That drives me nuts as well… so…. let’s grab lunch next year! hahahahasnorthahahaha. okay just kidding really.
    This was the first year I hurt after christmas. I felt a squeeze in my heart because it was like “oh that’s it”… and I had an amazing one to boot. But I was sad it was finished. so I guess in a different way, I kinda know what you mean.

  2. When people say, “See you next year,” what about saying, “Maybe you will, maybe you won’t” with raised eyebrows, a wee enigmatic smile, and then walk off. (This may take practice in front of a mirror.)

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

