here i sit

In an exam room at my doctor’s office that is. They got me into a room without the usual one hour wait so that was nice. Of course, the doc might not get in here for another week or so. Scratch that. He’ll be here soon I’m sure. I’m trying to think more positively lately. Really.

Not so brief recap of why I’m here…took Cooper & Sam for a walk, as I’ve done gazillion times before with no problems. We are truckin’ right along in our sweet lil neighborhood when we spy a cat. Cat heads our way. I say “see the kitty?” to Sam because she loves animals & won’t want to miss this. Cooper also sees the kitty and decides to get all social. He takes off suddenly, wrenching my arm nearly off and I slam to the ground face first.

The stroller? To my horror, it’s rolling down the hill on gravity’s whim. Sam realizes mommy is no longer driving and is screaming “WHAT THE HELL MOM?!?!” Very loudly. (What? I mean, I’m sure that’s what she’s thinking anyway.) I peel myself off the pavement as quickly as possible and run yelling after the rogue stroller, which of course I cannot catch in time. I helplessly watch as the stroller containing my screaming child veers into a neighbor’s yard and flips over.   

Kiddo & mommy are freaking out. I get Sam out and we plop down on the soggy grass in my neighbor’s yard sobbing & looking a mess. Cooper decides to choose this moment to be contrite and sits his hiney peacefully down next to us as if it is the most normal thing in the world for the females of his family to be bawling, soaking wet and injured in a stranger’s (I think his name is Joe but I could be wrong) yard down the street.

I somehow get “that damn dog” (his new name) and my scared toddler home, shove dog in basement & hobble upstairs to cry some more & check our wounds. Oh, and to text The Accountant to please come home. Kiddo has nary a scratch. Mommy has several. Major pain in wrist and shoulder, bruised hip and otherwise sore achey body. The pavement always wins these battles doesn’t it?  I lay down for a few hours after hubs got home and managed to get self and kiddo off to school and work this morning, albeit very slowly. As in, over an hour late.

Oh, doc just came in and sent me to xray….now I’m in yet another waiting room. Don’t you love that I can “live blog” my doctor’s appointments now? Suh-weet.  Uh, scratch that. The WordPress Blackberry app is of the suckage so I copy/pasted this post into an email. Lame-o.

So here I am waiting on a wrist xray. Since I have semi-decent range of movement in my shoulder he wasn’t too worried about that one. Easy for him to say as I’m sure he’s never tried to blow dry his hair or put on mascara with a bum shoulder. Sigh. Men.

To be continued…

Part II….that was fast I know. The internet is magical that way….Doc said the wrist is fine and I’m just a big ‘ol whiney baby. Well, he didn’t say that last part, not out loud at least. I can get one of those cool wrist braces if I want. But don’t those end up getting all stinky after a while? And who wants a stinky wrist? Besides, I’d rather show off my bruise and not cover it up.

Tune in next time when mommy and baby go to the zoo and throw pebbles at the monkeys…

Ciao.

4 thoughts on “here i sit

Add yours

  1. Wow, I’m glad you’re okay. That’s one of my worst nightmares. We live in a hilly neighborhood and go on lots of walks and I always have nightmare images of accidentally letting go of the stroller. YEESH.

    1. Hey, thanks for stopping by here!
      Yeah, it was just like in the movies…slow motion stroller wobbling down the hillside…eeeeekkkk!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

