happiness is…

I’ve been charged to pen a post about something that makes me happy. I could have chosen many things, family-friends-kiddo-books-fresh flowers-chocolate…but honestly, the first thing that came to mind was traveling. A lot. Everywhere. New places new people new everything.

Favorite destination #1? the Rick Steves tour we took of Europe in 2006. Several countries, never staying in the same one over two days. It was a whirlwind. And honestly, the perfect trip. Amazing, dreamlike, unbelievable.

Here’s the postcard I mailed home from Paris…

It says “We hated to leave grand Paris – it was so beautiful. But, on to another city, then another country. So gorgeous here, everywhere we go it is so fascinating in a different way. Truly the vacation of a lifetime.”

And it was.

We took hundreds of photos which are archived both electronically as well as in multiple photo albums that I peruse frequently when the house is quiet and I can allow myself to dream of going back there. I thought of adding some pics here but couldn’t choose just a few favorites. And then I got sidetracked going through them all and I do need to go to bed eventually.

This post was originally for my “life coach”, as I’m semi-jokingly referring to her here. But it turned into a post just for me, taking me back to a couple of weeks in October 2006. Thanks for that.

3 thoughts on “happiness is…

  1. I love this idea. something that makes you happy. also in another note, lets be professional travelers… we can sell pipecleaner animals for money. just sayin.

Leave a Reply

