a good book. its been a while.

I’d somehow forgotten how much I love to read. I’ve started but not finished several books over the past few months. I am totally the slacker of our monthly bookclub. Until tonight.

Just finished The Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd. I laughed a lot. Those weird annoying snorts that people let out when they’re immersed in humorous words and cause whoever happens to be in the room to look at you in annoyance when really, they just want to be let in on what’s so funny within the pages your nose is buried in. I cried a lot too. Not that that’s saying much as I’ve cried more this past week than I have in months so maybe I was already primed for tears. But this was healthy crying. Snot dripping, nose blowing, eyes reddening, shirt wetting, kind of crying.

So thank you Ms. Kidd, for bringing me back and reminding me what a good book can do for a person.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

