in which i shake my fist at the universe…

…and she laughs in my face, and then spits snow in it.

Today was just bizarre. Here was my plan…take kiddo to day care, come home, make quick grocery run, get ready and drive back to town for an interview, interview, knock their socks off and get an offer on the spot, do jubilant cartwheels down the hall and all the way to my car, pick up kiddo at day care, come home and continue the cartwheel par-tay.

But you know what Burns said (and Steinbeck lifted) about the best laid plans…

Yeah, I knew what the weather forecast called for. But really, how many times have there been false alarms and mass panic at the grocery store due to the tiniest threat of snow? I was hopeful that cutie-pie Dan the Weatherman from Channel 4 would be wrong yet again and/or that the Blizzard of 2010 would hold off until I was done with my mission.

I got punkin delivered safely to school, drove back home, got groceries and then got the call as I pulled into my driveway…they wanted to reschedule the interview for next week due to the weather that was just now hitting. I was calm, I was cool despite the fact that I had to drive back to the “city” anyway to pick up kiddo. (And yes, I realize that a normal person would have kept kiddo and just dropped them at daycare before the interview and picked them up afterwards, thus saving a trip. However, I am not a normal person and prefer to make things as difficult as possible. Ok, not really, but I’m just not one of those moms who finds multi-tasking with a toddler an easy thing. So I thought I’d make things easier on myself and take Sam to her beloved school. Figured she’d have more fun there than with crazy distracted mommy who would be doing ten things at once.) Oh well, these things happen and now I am set to wow ’em on Monday instead. So there we go and here we are.

The rest of the day was pretty much perfect though. Sam was coloring with the other kids when I got there to pick her up and it was so dang cute. She was in a great mood the rest of the day, gave me many kisses and hugs, took a 4 hour nap which meant that I got about a 2 hour one, and we played and read a multitude of books until her bedtime.

The weather has put another dent in my weekend and there will be no attending the Predators game with bro and future sis-in-law tomorrow night. But we are just gonna shift our plans to next weekend and watch them take on the Sharks instead. By the way, if you want the tickets for tomorrow night, let me know and I’ll email them to you. Maybe you can ice skate to the game or something. Me, I’m not that talented.

We were also supposed to have a realtor come out and check out the house and give us the low-down on what we need to do to put it on the market. I haven’t heard but I’m guessing that’s off as well. I hope so as I didn’t do anything much in the way of cleaning or straightening up…

So, all this to say, flexibility is a good quality to have right? 

Tomorrow will be spent in flannel jammies, watching Sesame Street and playing with kiddo. Maybe we’ll get adventuresome and play in the white stuff. Although, get this…Sam seems to be scared of the snow. Day care has an open courtyard that was covered in snow when I picked her up. I thought, “oh this will be cute, we’ll walk through it on the way to the car and maybe play a bit”. Ummmm, no. She wouldn’t set a foot in it. And when I picked her up and I was going to walk in it to show her it was harmless, she wigged out. Not a fan apparently. We had to walk all along the sidewalk to get to the car because she wanted nothing to do with the snow. Funny kid.

I leave you with this. Because Robert Frost is one of my favorites.

“Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening”
by Robert Frost

Whose woods these are I think I know.
His house is in the village, though;
He will not see me stopping here
To watch his woods fill up with snow.

My little horse must think it queer
To stop without a farmhouse near
Between the woods and frozen lake
The darkest evening of the year.

He gives his harness bells a shake
To ask if there is some mistake.
The only other sounds the sweep
Of easy wind and downy flake.

The woods are lovely, dark, and deep,
But I have promises to keep,
And miles to go before I sleep,
And miles to go before I sleep.

One thought on “in which i shake my fist at the universe…

Add yours

  1. I think Robert Frost almost always says it better. My dad has a book of his collected works and I remember stealing it away because he fasinated me. Miss you workout buddy.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

