what the song says

I’ve had “Edge of Desire” from JM’s new album, Battle Studies, on repeat in my car for the past week. Sometimes I get hooked on a song and won’t let it go. This one in particular makes me all melancholy and wistful weird. It’s tortured, longing, desperate. It speaks to me for various personal reasons I won’t go into. It reminds me of something from my past that I can’t forget and some recent poetry I’ve written. I just like it. A lot.

Edge of Desire
John Mayer

Young and full of running. Tell me where is that taking me? Just a great figure eight, or a tiny infinity? Love is really nothing but a dream that keeps waking me. For all of my trying we still end up dying. How can it be? Don’t say a word, just come over and lie here with me. ‘Cause I’m just about to set fire to everything I see. I want you so bad I’ll go back on the things I believe. There I just said it, I’m scared you’ll forget about me. So young and full of running, all the way to the edge of desire. Steady my breathing, silently screaming, I have to have you now. Wired and I’m tired. Think I’ll sleep in my clothes on the floor. Maybe this mattress will spin on its axis and find me on yours. Don’t say a word just come over and lie here with me. ‘Cause I’m just about to set fire to everything I see. I want you so bad I’ll go back on the things I believe. There I just said it, I’m scared you’ll forget about me.

One thought on “what the song says

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

