this is kind of a big deal

Yesterday was The Accountant and my 10 year anniversary. As in we’ve been married for 10 years…hitched…ball and chain…Together with a capital T…till death do we part, etc. Heavy stuff. And just like when I turned 30, I had a slight mental freak out with this anniversary. I mean, TEN YEARS???? What????  Ten year anniversaries are for 40+ year olds right? Not 30-somethings.

Obviously I got married young by some people’s standards. I was 23, he was…um, 27? Wow, I should totally know that I know. We’d been together a bit over 3 years before getting married so when you add that in…ohmagoodness…we’ve been together a LONG time! We met in college. One of his friends was dating my roommate so we started hanging out together, and you know the rest. He was an art major at the time and the art building was across the parking lot from my dorm. Not that I spied on him or anything. Because that would have been creepy.

People are sometimes surprised to hear that we’ve been married this long. I think mostly because we are just now getting a start on the having babies thing. I’m so glad we waited to have Sam though. We were able to do some travelling, get settled in careers and get our feet on the ground financially, and just get used to being married which is harder than some people realize until they jump into it. Marriage is hard. Add kids to the mix (and tax season in our case) and it adds an entirely new dimension of difficulty to being together. 

To celebrate we recruited my mom to come spend the night with Sam while we took off to Nashville and had a lovely stay at The Hermitage Hotel. It was fabulous! I could totally be Eloise. What a lucky girl that kid was huh? We had a bit of a spa day, dinner, date to a comedy show at The Ryman and breakfast at The Pancake Pantry this morning. Lovely lovely lovely.

Anyway I don’t really have any profound advice to impart on being married for this long. I just wanted to say Happy Anniversary to my sweet hubs!!! You totally deserve a medal for putting up with my craziness for the past 10+ years! Love you!

anny5

3 thoughts on “this is kind of a big deal

Add yours

  1. Congrats to you both. We’re celebrating seven years this year (no itch yet) and look forward to writing a similar post for our tenth. Or whatever Internet-type folks are doing by then.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

