things that have nothing to do with each other

Life is weird. It just is. I have decided. When you think back 5, 10 years ago, would you have guessed that you’d be right where you are now? Then, what does that mean your life will be like 5, 10 years from now? Will it be totally different or basically the same thing with a different year attached?  My noggin’ is full of haphazard thoughts like that. Aren’t I lucky?

I have had mad major writer’s block for months now. I haven’t written anything worth spitting on in a very long time. Of course, I have a fairly good excuse with the whole childbirthin’ thing but excuses are lame and I’m tired of using them all the time to excuse what is essentially, pure laziness on my part. As a friend of mine has said, we all have the same 24 hours in a day, it’s how we use them that counts. I love that sentiment.

So…bookclub…Some relatively new friends and I have been getting together once a month and solving the world’s problems over coffee, tea, what have you. Ok, not really, but we have been having lively conversation about the latest book selection. It’s interesting to see how different we each are and how we can read the same book but have completely different perspectives. I think that’s my favorite thing about it. (Well, that and the fact that I am talking to other adult females and don’t have to sing “I’ve Been Workin’ on the Railroad” or play peek-a-boo to keep them entertained. They are cool like that.)

Motivation and boredom have been a problem for me lately. And distraction; I’m distracted by bright shiny things. Most days I’m just a zombie going through the motions waiting for 5:00 to roll back around. I’ll be sitting at the computer working on a spreadsheet of some sort and the next thing I know, I’ve been staring at the crack in my wall for five minutes. Or have chewed an entire pack of gum because once the flavor is gone I’m moving on. Or am daydreaming of running out the door and driving to the beach on a whim. Etc etc. Burn out much? The 4-day week schedule has been great, because I get to focus on Sam and it’s one less day of zombieness. But I think I need to shake things up (and The Accountant cringes, I can feel it), do something crazy, jump right in to a pool of something or other, go on a trip, get a tattoo, something pierced, whatever. Something dang it. Or maybe I just need a girl’s night out. Meh. I refuse to have a mid-life crisis this early, I really do. But I think I might be ready to have a mini one. I just need to figure out what/who I want to be when I grow up. Or at least what I want to be next.

On the other hand, I have finally gotten motivated to get back to walking/running and that’s been going pretty well. I’ve also been doing much better with the gross eating habits and have dropped some baby weight. So Go Me in that regard. 5K, here I come!

I guess that’s enough randomness for one day. Besides, I see a bright shiny thing just over there……

2 thoughts on “things that have nothing to do with each other

Add yours

  1. I sometimes think of things like – where was I…where am I… but it makes me depressed so I stop or cry.

    So does this mean that should we ever meet, you won’t play peek-a-boo with me? I don’t know…

    Congrats on losing the baby weight!

  2. book club has been a wonderful motivation for me. I keep adding stuff I want to read to the pack… kinda dangerous as well. LOL I really have enjoyed getting to know you better and actually seeing you in person.
    We are going to rock out the 5k when we do it. I’m so pumped. off to find my own shiny object. 99% sure I have adult add

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

