a swell saturday

People don’t use the word “swell” nearly enough these days do they?

I’m sitting here on the bed surrounded by laundry that is begging to be folded but that will instead probably be transferred to another location later, and I’m just kind of blank. I just deleted several draft posts I had saved. I seem to start posts with good intentions but they fizzle before I can get to the point. Or when I realize that they have no point.

In spite of the blank brain syndrome I seem to have caught, today was a lovely day. I took Cooper to the vet for a bath and nail trim and then I headed to meet the book club girls at a new-to-me coffee shop only ten minutes from my house. In my head I’m already a regular there and am coming in at least twice a week with my huge bag containing laptop, book, and journal to stake my claim to a cozy corner table and sit a while. I always wanted to be one of those intellectual types you see in coffee shops wearing a beret and scuffed up Chuck Taylors who peer all serious and thoughtful-like at the brilliant artsy-type stuff that I’m sure they must be composing on their Macs. Except that I am more likely to be wearing a baseball cap and running shoes while using a PC, but close enough. 

The book club meeting was great. We had some lively and thought-provoking discussion about The Kite Runner and many many laughs over one thing or another.  Next up is The Last Lecture. I love to read but over the past several months have unintentionally shoved it aside for other things. I like that our monthly gathering is pushing me back into the world of books.  And it’s only made that much better by the intelligent conversation and good company.

I returned home and Sam and I went for a walk since the weather was so nice. Well, I huffed and puffed walked while she rode in the jogging stroller. It is harder than you’d think to push a 16-17 pound little one in a wheeled buggy on a hilly route. Especially when you’re as out of shape as I am. But we’re working on that. Sam seems to like the stroller. She just kind of zones out and watches the world go by. I like to do the same whenever I get the chance.

I hope your Saturday was as pleasant as mine.

5 thoughts on “a swell saturday

Add yours

  1. Yes, swell Saturday! Sam, zoning out–hard to imagine–she’s so lively otherwise. One bad thing about this area we live in–no coffee shops or tea rooms. Well, there is the new coffee place on campus, but mostly only people who attend or work there use it. I think your group will like The Last Lecture. I just read a moving paper about it by a student from Korea. The professor’s assignment was a literacy narrative, and his was the best paper I read that came into the writing center. The gist: His mom had been diagnosed with cancer and someone gave him the book to read while sitting around at the hospital. The whole family read it and got through the ordeal, with the book making a major impact on their attitude. I love a happy ending!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

