the aftermath

I hope everyone that celebrated Christmas had a great one! Ours was super. Exhausting but super. After the third family gathering Sam was worn out but she has made quite the recovery today and is playing and squealling away. Yesterday we got up early and made it to my parents by 8:00. It was a nice day of food, gifts and catnaps.  Dad went and picked up my grandmother and brought her over for a while so that was an unexpected treat. We headed back in the afternoon and went to my father-in-laws for a bit. Sam was tuckered out by this time and I think she was glad to see her bed after taking naps in so many strange places over the last couple of days.  Or maybe that was me. 

I’m off work today, or maybe I should clarify and say that I took a vacation day that I’m not even sure I have.  I kind of want to go shopping since I have a gift card that is smoldering in my pocket. For some reason I am hankering for some funky rain boots. Maybe it’s the weather but everytime it rains I wish I had a pair to brighten my day. So funky rain boots it is.

I also want to take the tree down. Or rather, I want it to be down but I don’t want to take it down. I’m one of those people the day after Christmas that are completely over all the decorations. Honestly, after New Years I get a bit of the post-holiday depression (self-diagnosed). There’s all the mental build up to the holidays and then after its over, there’s a big letdown.  I don’t know why I get like that but I always have. But I’m sure it doesn’t help that I anticipate it which probably helps bring it on to a great extent.  I shouldn’t dwell on these things. Sheesh. Whatever.

For now I think I’ll go play with a squirming Sam and get the house back in order once and if she takes a nap. Happy Holidays ya’ll!

3 thoughts on “the aftermath

Add yours

  1. Nope, no depression on the horizon. I guaran-freakin-tee it. We’re going to nip it in the bud before it gets here.:)

  2. I have recurring nightmares every year about this time that I still have my Christmas tree up on Easter.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

