Sam 4 month stats

Sam had her 4 month check up and shots today. The shots were ooky.  She cried, I cried. It was a sob fest in exam room # 2. She got over the tears quickly though and has been a real trooper tonight. She’s sporting some very cool Tazmanian Devil bandaids right now. I gave her some infant Tylenol and she’s finally asleep. (Wow, that sounds like I drugged my kid doesn’t it? It was doctor’s orders people, don’t call the cops.)

She has some excema on her arm and leg so we are treating that per doctor’s instructions with hydrocortezone? cream, lotion and a particular liquid baby soap. She still has some cradle cap and I received advice on that minor issue. I asked about the snotty nose and received a speech about how great day care is for building up the immune system and that when she goes to kindergarten all the kids of “stay at home moms” will be sick all the time but Sam will bee-bop along with no problems because she got toughened up from being surrounded by all these other snotty nosed kids at day care now. If this turns out not to be true I am suing this nurse. Kidding.

Things I forgot to ask about: the swaddling issue. Should we still be swaddling her up to sleep? She sleeps so much better and longer when we do but at some point you’re supposed to stop. I think it’s when they can roll over maybe? Also, the most important thing – when to start feeding her cereal. I assumed this would be brought up by the doc but it wasn’t and I was so distraught by the needles going into my baby’s legs that I forgot to ask. However, we always get some paperwork given to us that talks about the different immunizations, development stages, etc and there was a big thing about starting on cereal. It said we could start her anywhere from 4-6 months. But then it wasn’t discussed with us during the visit so I don’t know if we’re supposed to do this or not. I think I’m going to call and ask. Honestly, I’m in no hurry but don’t want to deprive her if it’s something I need to be doing now.

Length – 25 inches, 84th percentile. Doc said she is “evening out”, meaning her weight is catching up to her length so she isn’t so loooooong and skinny anymore.

Weight – 14 lbs, 5 oz, 67th percentile. Perfect.

Head circumference (or her “knowledge” as the nurse calls it) – 41.5 cm, 66th percentile. 

She is developing right on track and things look great.  I am thankful to be blessed with a happy and healthy lil’ munchkin.

baby-013

Photo Credit: Grandma
Titans Onesie Credit: Grandma T

3 thoughts on “Sam 4 month stats

Add yours

  1. Awww, I want to kiss her little cheeks! And, Marley had her shots yesterday, too, and she weighs about a pound more than Sam. I love how they’re living little parallel lives already :).

  2. I bought Sam an outfit a couple of weeks ago. I already decided to take it back and get her a bigger size if I was going to give it to her for Christmas. Now I’m glad I did. I hope she doesn’t outgrow this one too before then.

  3. I guess Tuesday was a day of shots and doctor’s visits. Averi had her 2 yr old ones done too. This time they got both legs. Mom and child are doing fine (now).

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

