books ‘n books ‘n books

While looking through all the blog templates on WordPress and fidgeting with the format I noticed that I have a tiny little section called “Currently Reading” that I haven’t updated in oh, at least a year.  Mainly because for the past year or so I’ve been reading several pregnancy/childbirth/parenting books all at the same time and didn’t feel the need to share.  Now I have the urge to update this section for some reason. 

Interesting fact…I never did finish “Eat Pray Love” but fully intend to.  I got a good start on it and then somehow got distracted and never came back to it.  So I guess technically I am still “currently reading” it.  Or maybe a better way to put it would be “in progress”.  I plan on making that my next completed read after I finish another book I am currently in progress of reading; “A Long Way Gone: Memoirs of a Boy Soldier” by Ishmael Beah.  I’m a little over halfway through it and it is mentally consuming.  Here’s a link so you can go read about it for yourself.  I’ve almost felt the need to put it down for a while because it is so heavy.  It’s a true account of a child fighting in the government army of Sierra Leone against the rebels.  Beah lost his family to the war and endured and inflicted terrible things in his journey that eventually took him to New York and self-forgiveness and healing. 

It overwhelms me when I think about how different life is for those who do not know the freedom from war and violence in their everyday lives.  To realize that these things go on in our world is to wonder how and why and what we can do about it.  The book is disturbing and inspiring at the same time and I’m only two-thirds of the way through it. 

This is why I love reading and I plan to make time to do more of it.

One thought on “books ‘n books ‘n books

Add yours

  1. I could not have enough time to read ever. I can’t wait to retire to consume myself in reading. I also have an addiction to BUYING books. Get your raeding done during naptimes if you can. That is what I used to do on weekends when mine were little. BTW, I like the new blog design.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

