my day and the Olympics

Hiya.  Soooo, how’ve you been?  I seem to be a bit preoccupied lately and the chances of me being able to finish this post and actually publish it are about 5%.  But we will try and there is always that handy Drafts feature.

Things are still crazy around here but now that I know life is just going to be plain crazy from now on I can handle it better.  I’ve resigned myself to the fact that a shower is a luxury and being able to sit down and eat a meal uninterrupted is just plain impossible.  But it’s all good. 

Now, let’s talk about b00bs shall we?  I’m attempting this nursing thing and we’ve about figured it out.  Sort of.  I don’t want to go into details about the process because

…….Ok, so it’s now 24 hours later and I knew I wouldn’t get this post finished in one sitting. 

Now where was I…oh yeah, b00bs.  But now I’m out of the mood to talk about that so let’s not.  Except to say that I feel like a cow.  A very sore cow.  ‘Nuff said.

The Accountant went back to work today so I was on my own for pretty much the first time since Sami was born.  It was a bit scary but everything went ok.  Here’s my day…feed baby, hold baby, get baby to fall asleep, attempt to put baby in crib, pick up baby when she screams bloody murder because I’m not holding her, try to pump b00bs while holding baby, keep dog from giving baby a bath with his tongue, change poopy diaper, change pee pee diaper, let dog out to pee/poop, swaddle baby, wash bottles, freeze milk, repeat in random order. 

The Olympics…I’ve had the TV tuned to the games 24/7 and here are some random observations.  Right now some crazy trampoline event is on.  Is that a sport????  Guess so.  They have names for the moves and everything.  That just seems odd.  And it’s making me dizzy. How do they stop themselves from catapulting out the window when it’s time for their routine to be over?  The whole Michael Phelps thing was amazing.  I can’t imagine the pressure he was under to get gold in all his races and the fact that he did that is just sheer craziness.  My fav events are gymnastics and track and field.  Jamaica sure knows how to breed some runners don’t they?  That Bolt guy is a phenom.  There was some messed up stuff going on with the gymnastics scoring I thought.  Here’s the thing about beach volleyball…Misty May-Treanor and Kerrie Walsh are the cutest things and definitely those girls are great athletes.  But did I see bikini-clad cheerleaders on the sidelines or was that my imagination?  Do they cheer at the men’s matches too?  Is that bizarre or is it just me?  And why do the girls wear bikinis and the guys are fully clothed with shirts on and everything?  What’s up with that?  The commentators make me feel old though.  There are a couple of gymnasts who are in their late-20s/early 30s and the announcer people are like “oh my, so and so is 28 years old…isn’t that amazing that they can even run down the floor without a wheelchair?”…and of course there’s Dara Torres, the 41 year old swimmer…they are going crazy that she is so “old” and a mom (GASP) and is still able to compete in the games without wearing one of those skirt bathing suits. 

Anyway, I love the Olympics.  Always have and am always sad when they’re over.  And if they ever have a diaper changing event I’m a shoo-in for the Gold medal.

3 thoughts on “my day and the Olympics

Add yours

  1. Hey girl, I enjoyed catching up with you through your blog and it even gave me a good chuckle or two to start my day. You seem to be doing great. The boobs will get better, I promise. Looking forward to seeing more pics when you get a chance.

    I have been an Olympic viewer myself and enjoyed sharing some of the historical moments made while watching with my son. It’s hard to find those bonding times with Matt now that he is a young man. My problem is staying up late to catch it. I am also finding it hard to keep from finding out who won yesterday’s events while on the Internet so I can watch it on TV tonight.

  2. You have totally confirmed my worst fear. A baby is a lot of time. Not that I’m worried or anything, but these past couple of weeks, I’ve been wondering how my boss is gonna do it all by herself. Do single moms and married moms deal with the same issues when raising a baby or does a married mom do it with a little more ease, knowing that her husband will be home to help out. I dont know. I just pray everything works out. I’m thinking about going over to her house sometimes to help out, but how much help is too much?

    And you’re totally right about the Olympics. They’re awesome and I always get sad when they’re over. And as I get older, the Olympics seem to get shorter. Or is it just me? And speaking of events, did you see the event where the Bulgarian weightlifter tried lifting a dumbell, only to have his arm pop out and his elbow to break the other way? Oh, God. That was hard to watch. Yet, I couldnt stop playing it over and over and over again. If they had an event for how many times you could stomach something so disturbing, I think I’d be in the running for gold.

    Anyways, good luck and God bless with your motherly duties.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

