school stuff

Well it’s my favorite day of the week and I’m sitting at a round table in The Accountant’s office clacking around on an antique laptop while the TaxMaster does his magic on his fancy dual monitors and mumbles things like “where’s that idiot’s w-2” and “you can’t take that deduction!”, and other things I don’t comprehend. 

As for me, I’ve been doing some research online for this humongous mongo paper/presentation that is my very last project for my very first graduate class that will be over in 3 more weeks!  This project scares me a bit because it’s been a LONG time since I’ve had to do a research paper this lengthy and extensive.  I was on the verge of panic a few days ago because I couldn’t for the life of me, think of a topic to write about that was in the confines of what the assignment called for.  But with some input from Scout and me finally kicking my brain into gear, I came up with something and it was thankfully approved as a “go”.  So now the real work begins and I will become a hermit and slave to the computer and perhaps a library or two for the next 3 weeks.  Fun times.

I can’t believe I’ve made it through (almost) my first class as an English major.  Maybe that’s a small milestone to some but if you’d asked me a year or more ago, I’d never have guessed I’d have attempted to return to the college classroom. I do have to ask myself though if this will be my first and last grad class due to da Bean’s arrival. I am not taking a class this summer and won’t be able to return until January of next year for the spring semester.  I have to fill out a Leave of Absence form because I will be so long between classes.  I hope to come back and keep going with this, but you never know how life is going to change and what will happen on down the road.  And with a new baby here in just 3 or so months, I am not even going to attempt to predict what my life is going to be like or what I’ll be doing in the future. 

In a way I like the unplanned-ness of that. But it’s scary too. 

3 thoughts on “school stuff

Add yours

  1. You’ll get this done no prob and then, next class or no next class, you’ll have accomplished something some people are too afraid to even attempt. *Ducks and covers*

  2. That Scout is always a source of inspiration.
    Good luck in the library.
    Oddly enough, while typing in during the previous sentence my faulty fingers accidentally typed ibn which is close to ibid, so I take that as a good sign.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

