wanna play…

…catch up that is?  It seems that real life, including not enough sleep, have taken a lot of my time away from the “internets”.  Ah well, that’s just how it goes I guess. 

Basketball:  First of all, can we just say wow and congrats to the Belmont Bruins for what was apparently a great game against Duke tonight?  I somehow missed the game but tuned in at the last 2.7 seconds to see the heartbreaking end.  I’m kind of glad I didn’t see the game because I don’t think my nerves could have taken it.  Guess I’ll move on to rooting for Austin Peay and Vandy now.  You gotta love Tennessee basketball (and I’m not talking about just UT). 

School:  My semi-new role as grad student is continuing along just fine I think.  It’s both harder and easier than I thought it would be.  I make it harder than it has to be because in addition to OCD (see previous post), I also suffer from Procrastinitus. 

(You’ll have to excuse me, I’m somewhat majorly distracted by MTV’s America’s Best Dance Crew.  These kids are crazy athletic and talented.  And in about five million times better shape than I could ever dream of.)

But back to my Procrastinitus problem.  I can’t seem to operate unless I’m working under the pressure of a last minute deadline.  I’ve written four papers in about three hours the night before they are due.  And so far, this strategy has served me well because I’m doing quite well, if I do say so.  But it’s not helping my sleeping situation and I’m exhausted on Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday and by the time I catch up on rest by about Saturday, it’s nearly time to start again with reading and assignments.  It’s been quite the eye-opening experience and I have learned a ton.  It’s so much more less structured than undergrad and really you can pretty much say whatever the heck you want as long as you back it up in some way.  There is no right or wrong answer which I’ve had to get used to since that’s not been my thing in the past with the business degree mindset.  It’s just a different perspective for me.  I’ll be done with this class at the end of next month and then it will be Bean time and I guess school will take a backseat for a while. 

Work:  Um yeah, not much to say about that since I don’t talk about that here.  I’ve more or less just been a body in a chair while my mind is elsewhere.  I get my work done, say the right things, do the right things and go home.  Priorities are changing and maternity leave is coming up.  And after that?  Who knows.  Everything is going to be different.

Bean:  I’m 22 weeks today and the belly is quickly expanding.  As is my butt I’m sure but I try not to look back there.  I’ll post a new belly pic this weekend.  She (cool that I can say “she” now) is moving a lot more now and the kicks or punches or kung fu, whatever she’s doing up in there are getting a lot stronger.  Probably one of the biggest bits of progress has been that The Accountant and I (mostly The Accountant) finally got the nursery cleaned out!!!  Every box, every craft supply, every book, every miscellaneous piece of paper is gone.  Either dying a much delayed death in the heart of a Glad trash bag or boxed up and moved into the basement.  The only thing left in there is a box of stuffed animals, a lullaby cd and cd player.  Oh, and the new ceiling fan that’s still in the box.  We also got some paint chips/cards/samples, whatever you call them, to see what color(s) we want to paint the room.  We’re looking at gender neutral colors so there will be no pink involved!  We’re looking at yellow, green or an earthy tan.  Also got a purple but I think that’s last on the list.  Ok, wow, this is boring isn’t it?  Kind of like reading about someone else’s dental work.  Ha.  I finally bought a few things for Bean today at Target, a cute sleeper thing (what are those things called?  the one piece things with the feet) and a dress.  A friend also bought her another sleeper and dress too!  (Thanks J!)  I also started our registry online even though I have no clue what in the world I’m doing.  But its fun so what the hay!

Cooper:  I think this blog is long overdue for a Cooper picture so maybe I’ll get around to that this weekend too.  He LOVED the snow we got the other week.  He’s getting so huge and is a super sweetie, if occasionally a trouble maker.  I’m sure one of our neighbors is wondering what happened to his leather sandal and some child down the street is missing their bottle of bubbles.  The thing is, Mr. Smart Dog is perfectly behaved and stays where he’s supposed to whenever me or The Accountant is in sight but as soon as we go in the house and let him do his own thing he goes no telling where and strange objects appear in our yard.  The Invisible Fence really is, invisible…

Ok, enough of this catching up stuff.  I will try to do better about posting more regularly.  Really. 

3 thoughts on “wanna play…

Add yours

  1. Didn’t get to see the Belmont/Dukie game because I had to go to a sports banquet, but it definitely made me sick to hear how close the Bruins came to pulling the upset. What’s even more ironic is that BF and I were filling out a bracket today at lunch and picked Belmont to win over Duke. Ugh…so close!
    Glad that all is well with Bean, Coop and school and at least partially tolerable with work.:)

  2. Scout, Ugh, Vandy lost tonight too! Is Memphis our last hope? Need to check the score…

    MQ, I’m keeping that to myself b/c I have this thing about not giving away too much personal info. Nothing personal I assure you, just my thing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

