the christmas post

I hope everyone had a great holiday!  I figured if I’m going to do a Christmas recap I ought to do it before New Years.  I’m not sure why I even feel the need to recount it but I do. 

Warning: there are a lot of parenthesis in this post for reasons I can’t explain.  Guess I’m just trying to let ya’ll into my head or something.

We had decided for various reasons to do Christmas with my parents and bro a bit early, on Friday.  As I am one of those crazed last-minute shoppers with the frantic look in their eyes you can guess how I spent my Thursday night.  I was pleasantly surprised at how smoothly the shopping trip went though.  God bless Target is all I have to say about that.  (Of course, my parents’ main gift was to be telling them about Bean but I’m saving that for another post.) 

Friday we left Cooper to his own devices in the basement and a very generous father-in-law who agreed to come let him out around midday and The Accountant and I headed for the lovely hills of West Tennessee.  Dad and The Accountant worked on business stuff and I hung out with mom.  Or tried to, I think I dozed in dad’s chair by the woodstove for most of the afternoon.  I’m afraid I wasn’t much company that day.  That evening we “did Christmas”.  The Accountant got some mysterious-to-me manly gadgets, tools, books, etc.  I received books from my childhood (Ramona, The Frog and the Toad and I think an Amelia Bedelia one too), a movie, the most comfy pjs ever, a bootiful shoulder bag, and so forth.  Cooper even scored a stocking.   

I am completely drawing a blank as to what happened on Saturday.  There is a very good possibility that I slept through that day but I really just can’t remember.   I do remember (only because I just checked my day planner) that we went with the BIL and gfriend to PF Changs for dinner (this did NOT agree with Bean AT ALL) and then went to TPAC to see The Nutcracker (the gfriend and I came up with various names for it using our juvenile humor – a couple of which I will use shortly so pay attention).  This was my first ballet.  The Accountant had seen The Nutcruncher when he was a child but didn’t really remember it very well.  After the gfriend and I got over our initial shock and awe at the *ahem* snugness *ahem* of the male dancers tights (giving new meaning to “The Nuthugger”) we all really enjoyed the performance.  Over the next few days I was surprised at how many commercials I noticed that use the music from the Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy.  Advertising a Norelco razor with that music just seems so wrong.  (But so does defaming this ballet with various tacky pseudonyms so ok, I have no case).

Sunday….hmmm…I seem to have another blank spot…I think I slept a lot once again…so forget about Sunday because I have no clue.  Oh wait, yes, I wasn’t feeling well and was pretty much a worthless bum that day. 

Christmas Eve was on Monday as you recall.  I felt better that day so we went to a family shindig for a little while that afternoon.  That night we hit up yet another Christmas show (for some reason this was the week the Finn house decided to become patrons of the arts) and went to see The Rockettes at the Opry House.  (The Rockettes can be considered part of “the arts” can’t they?)  Those ladies are amazing!  For real.  I was expecting to see way more high kicking stockinged leg action than I could stomach but they did some really cool choreographied dances and I was thoroughly entertained.  My only complaint was that the filler material in between The Rockettes performances was a bit hokey but the 2 year old sitting in front of us enjoyed it immensely. 

Oh, somewhere in all this (but not at The Rockettes show mind you), The Accountant and I swapped gifts.  He gave me a digital picture frame which I have been wanting ever since I knew there was such a gadget.  I have yet to set it up but that’s on my weekend to-do list.  I gave him some books and miscellaneous things you don’t need to know about. (Get your mind out of the gutter, it wasn’t anything like THAT.)

On Christmas Day The Accountant and I decided to get all Martha Stewart and had Christmas brunch at our house for the FIL, BIL and gfriend.  It turned out rather well I think and will perhaps become a tradition.  We shall see.  Also, I do believe a portion of my family had a Christmas gathering that evening that I skipped.  Oops.

The day after Christmas The Accountant had to go back to work but I had the day off.  I headed back to West TN, this time to visit the grandparents since we hadn’t had time to do that on Friday.  I also got to tell them about Bean and I received the standard reaction which I’ll discuss later.  Let’s just say I’m getting quite used to inflicting a feeling of disbelief on folks.

Since there was not a stitch of any type of Christmas decorations at our house I am happy to say that I do not have to take any of them down, always a dreaded task.   I do believe this will be the last year for a naked house though with Bean coming along next year.  I mean, what kind of a parent would I be if I didn’t put up lights and a tree for the little bugger?

Now you are caught up on our holiday shananigans.  I hope you and yours had a blessed holiday and that the New Year holds wonderful things in store!   

Note to mom: when you use parenthesis does the punctuation go on the inside or the outside of the parenthesis?  And did I even spell “parenthesis” correctly? 

6 thoughts on “the christmas post

Add yours

  1. Bean! hahaha… cute! They do rather look like a kidney bean for the longest time. Although I’m not your Mama, you did spell parenthesis correctly. The punctuation inside or out, though, I’m not sure. Great Christmas post! Better than mine in which I talked about non-stop sickness. Speaking of that, how are you feeling?

  2. Sounds like you had a good Christmas break. Here in Sydney we had unusually cool weather on the 25th…….22C which is really cool for here.
    Congratulations on the baby. How is your asthma now? [you mentioned your medications in a back entry]
    Hoping you have lots of happiness and joy in the new year.

  3. Daughter Finn, thanks for asking. I do love those grammar and punctuation questions. Now don’t let your eyes glaze over, but the good news is that you used the correct punctuation marks with your parentheses (parentheses is the plural for parenthesis, by the way) about 99% of the time (mind you, my math is horrible!). When your parentheses or parenthetical thoughts are within a sentence, you put the period at the end of the sentence, after the parenthesis. The exception is the exclamation point, which goes inside (see sentence three above). A parenthetical thought that is a sentence unto itself and not part of another sentence gets the period inside the parenthesis mark. Therefore, in a quick perusal of your post, I think the only time you got it wrong was in the stand alone parenthetical element at the end of paragraph five: “(But so does defaming…).” (Ouch! I hope I punctuated that last sentence correctly.) Anyway, the period should have gone inside the parenthesis. But, like I said, you got it right 99% of the time. You’re a natural! I’m proud to call you my daughter (of course, for reasons other than your punctuation). Say, like daughter like mother on the abundance use of and love of parentheses! They and dashes: you gotta love ’em!

  4. Hi, Finn.

    Yeah, i kind of makes me want to move to the city, too. Until I look at the amounts of money I’ve spent when I balance my checkbook against the receipts of everything.

    The City is expensive. I’m fine with living in the Detroit suburbs with my unGreen car and lack of public transit.

  5. I woulda much rather had more high kicks than singing/talking Santa and Mrs. Claus at the Rockettes, fo sho. Who wants to hear Santa sing? Not me.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

