Book Fest

It could not have been a better weekend weather wise for the Southern Festival of Books.   Mom, Bro, Scout and I headed for the big city Saturday morning and spent the next six hours perusing tents full of every type book imaginable and listening to author discussions and readings.  I felt quite intellectual afterwards.  🙂

There was a good variety of vendors and one of the first booths we came upon was the Williamson County Council for the Written Word.  Muscadine Lines was prominently displayed, as well as Pink Butterbeans and several other books by local authors.  There were a few of the larger vendors with booths – Davis Kidd, University of TN Press, etc but many self published authors as well. 

  

We’d checked the schedule before leaving the house and had our plan of attack ready.  At 1:00 Mom, Bro and I sat in the House Chambers to hear Sena Jeter Naslund discuss and read from her novel  Abundance: A Novel of Marie Antoinette.  Then we immediatly made our way to the Capitol Library to listen to mom’s poet friend, Bill Brown and two other very talented poets, Rita Quillen and Connie Green

   

It’s inspiring to be around talented authors who write such lovely words.  I came away with that swift kick in the pants that I’ve been needing to get back on track with my writing.  Lately I’ve failed to make it a priority.  And when I think about that, it pains me.  For something that is so important to me, how have I let other things get in the way?  And why?  I am too easily consumed by the mundaneness of getting through each day of the bill-paying job and doing the minimum to make it through the next one.  Things that are more important to me are suffering.  I needed the recharging this weekend gave me. 

Next year the Festival will be held in Memphis.  Roadtrip!

3 thoughts on “Book Fest

Add yours

  1. I know what you mean. And when I’ve stopped for a while and start doing the pop-cultury, politicy, icky crap just to take up space, I feel like garbage.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

