weekend report

This weekend has been pretty great. This was the last weekend before hub’s busy time of year officially starts so we spent Friday together being lazy and then making up for said laziness by going to the gym. We’d also lined up a babysitter for Friday night. Kiddo loves this particular sitter but sadly, she will graduate in May and is moving away. Hopefully we’ll be lucky enough to book her a few more tiIMG_20140110_121554mes before she leaves for good. Anyway, hubs and I went to our favorite restaurant and sat there for a very long time talking and laughing. Very nice.

You know, there is a reason I loathe getting blood drawn. If you have bad rolling veins, like I do, and you happen to get an unskilled technician or a phlebotomist having a bad day, you end up being a pincushion and nearly passing out in the lab. Routine blood work on Friday resulted in just that very thing. Fun times. I’m now sporting some killer bruises from my tormentor. Dude had to give up and get someone else to draw it, and she did with just one stick. I almost kissed her right there in the lab, after I punched the other guy. But I couldn’t because I was slugging apple juice and had my feet elevated on a rolling stool. At least my bandages were colorful. I know I’m fortunate that I don’t have an illness or condition that requires being repeatedly poked with needles very often.

The rest of the weekend was spent playing with kiddo and getting in a walk/jog, a nice bike ride, and some more gym time. You would think, as active as I am that I’d be skinny but I always seem to counteract my exercise with bad food. Sigh. Today’s bike ride was awesome though. The weatIMG_20140112_130605her was fantastic for January, sunny and in the 50s. I honestly didn’t think I’d get the bike back out again until spring but I couldn’t pass it up today. I could tell I hadn’t been out in a while but I still got in almost 12 miles. Came home and made some vegetarian chili (which IMO would have been 100x better with some beef in it, but marriage is all about compromise I guess) and settled in for the night.

Overall, a stellar weekend. My to-do list is lengthy this week so off to bed I go.

Bonne nuit!

Leave a Reply

